Golders Green

Golders Green by tophee

Golders Green by tophee

First things first: be aware that this post will require updating. You see, lovely as Golders Green is, it’s a bit tricky on the charity shop front, for one main reason: this is Jew country, and therefore, you go on a Saturday, you’ll find half the shops closed. Which is a considerable amount: In total there’s eight charity shops, with a new Barnardo’s just being kitted out, so I’m going to rate Golders Green on it’s full potential, not just the one visit.

Go on a weekday, then. If you do, you’ll be spoilt for choice, and though you’ll be fending off the wealthy looking elderly Jewish ladies, you’ll be rewarded. Starting at the tube, there’s two close by on Finchley Road, a Cancer Research and an All Aboard (the latter was closed, but the Cancer Research was excellent: a particularly good selection of music and books, small but good. I left with The Princess Bride (yes!) on DVD, a Run DMC album and a Hemingway paperback). According to Google Maps, if you went the other way up Finchley Road, there would be an Oxfam and another All Aboard (Google claims three around here: I’m not convinced). We didn’t investigate that far on this occasion, but seeing as Golders Green is getting a good, hard revisiting as soon as possible, I can update soon.

The main shopping drag is Golders Green Road, between the tube station and heading up towards Hendon/Brent Cross at the North Circular. Here you’ll find JAMI, two Norwood shops (all closed), a North London Hospice (pretty good, as usual), and a Marie Curie (not bad…), plus a couple more. A goodly selection. the shops are pretty well-stocked too – my biggest ever charity shop regret is a £45 accordion from Golders Green. Is that a bargain? I don’t know! Aargh!

Golders Green is an excellent stop off. There’s tons here, as well as some handy other shops (there’s two Choices, which is the factory-outlet version of Next, including a home shop), and dead handy for Golders Hill Park and Hampstead Heath. I heartily approve.

Find: Golders Green @ Google Maps
Transport: Golders Green on the Northern line
Consume with: I went with a safe Caffe Nero cake, but on a non-Saturday, there’s loads of kosher bakeries and cafes that look wonderful.
Visit: Golders Hill Park is well worth your time: deer and donkeys, a beautiful park with a decent caf, and handy access to the incredible Hill Garden on Hampstead Heath.
Web: MC Rebbe the rapping Rabbi; Golders-Green.com; more
Overall rating: five too-small coats
 

17 Comments

Filed under 5/5, London North

17 responses to “Golders Green

  1. Pingback: Hampstead & Belsize Park « Charity Shop Tourism

  2. In all my time in London, I’ve never been to Golders Green. Thanks for the Saturday tip.

  3. Oh yes! I just went to Golders Green last weekend and it rocked! I couldn’t believe my thrift luck. I picked up a crock handbag from the north london hospice and then at Marie Curie’s a stunning pink dress and a Karen Millen dress. I completely agree with you, this is a 5/5. Hurrah for Golders Green!

  4. Pingback: 1st Blogday: Top Ten Charity Shops Of The Year « Charity Shop Tourism

  5. BIG THANK YOU for giving the credit that GG deserves! I grew up in Golders Green and my mum used to volunteer at Oxfam (which used to be on GG Road in the 80s) – suffice to say, my wardrobe from teenage upwards revolved around charity shop fashion. It was cheap and good quality, branded items due to the locals who took their stuff there – we used to call it JJ town – Jews and Japs – hence even the charity shops were pretty up-market. I took a trip up to GG July 2008 to savour my nostalgic childhood and came back with armful of items – I could’ve bought more but I live overseas now, an unfortunate luggage limit…

  6. Pingback: 1st Blogday: Top Ten Destinations Of The Year « Charity Shop Tourism

  7. Kris

    I agree! I just moved to London from Australia, and found a place in Golders Green by chance. I love op-shops, and they are EVERYWHERE! Couldn’t believe it. The one across the road was selling a Leica camera for £5 and I am kicking myself for not buying it before someone else snatched it up.

    The Heath extension is just down the road, and it is beautiful to walk from there right up through to woods to the top of Hampstead Heath.

  8. ohsimone

    Hi Kris – if you haven’t already, head into the woods at the top of Golders Hill Park, and keeping going up – you’ll come to the Hill Garden and Pergola, which is just fantastic.
    I’ve had some great buys and great regrets from Golders Green. I pine for that accordion.

  9. Rachael

    This Friday (21st October) the Barnardo’s store in Golders Green will be taken over by a team of corporate volunteers for the “store wars” competition. Alongside some entertainment for kids, there should be a lot of new stock in store from the wardrobes of city accountants and it will be worth a visit!

  10. Pingback: Alderley Edge | Charity Shop Tourism

  11. Pingback: Church End, Finchley | Charity Shop Tourism

  12. Pingback: Mill Hill | Charity Shop Tourism

  13. Pingback: West Hampstead | Charity Shop Tourism

  14. Judith Russell

    i FOUND THIS DESCRIPTION VERY OFFENSIVE. THIS IS ‘JEW COUNTRY’ IS IT? THAT IS A VERY DISGUSTING TERM TO USE AND OBVIOUSLY THE WRITER DIDN’T STOP TO THINK WHAT HE WAS SAYING…

  15. This post is still giving!

  16. Excellent post. I used to be checking constantly this weblog and I am impressed!
    Very useful information particularly the closing phase 🙂 I take care of such info much.
    I was looking for this certain info for a long time.
    Thanks and best of luck.

Leave a Reply

