Royal Leamington Spa

from magdzia_ss photostream

from magdzia_s’s photostream

For a tourist, a day of horizontal rain and unseasonable cold do not make a good start for a day out in Leamington. Much head-nodding appreciation of the town’s Georgian architecture, pump rooms, parks and attractive stretch of river are duly foregone, then, in favour of a heads-down, hoods-up stomp around the town centre.

The delights of Leamington appear to be many: on the one hand, most of the ugly shops (your mobile phone shops, your Top Shops) are all tucked away in the shopping centre, leaving the main streets for some homeware stores, the odd designer outlet, some classy-looking coffee shops and, to my delight, some excellent charity shops. The old faithful are here (two Oxfams; Imperial Cancer Research) plus an odd local shop (Myton Hospices), and there’s an excellent mixed bag of things here.

Now, this being a first post, it’s as well to set out my stall: my main interests tend to be the books and records section. Despite my record player costing £17 off of eBay, it’s a pile of junk, in essence, although it looks very nice. This rarely stops me buying something I want, however, so I have a significant stash awaiting the day that I can afford a USB record player.

CDs of course have their place, as do the shelves of tat (if I see another rice bowl I might just… buy it), and I’ll always have shufty at the stripy shirts and jackets. My regular companion is mostly interested in frocks, or so it seems.

So: Leamington. The big draw is an excellent Oxfam bookshop. We spied vinyl versions of Leonard Cohen’s Songs of Love & Hate here, as well as UB40’s Signing Off, replete with actual UB40 form styled front cover. In books, I had to put down a Neil Gaiman (Neverwhere) otherwise I may have bought an entire shelf-full from the American Authors section – many Updikes, Mailers and Fitzgeralds.

Elsewhere, we found baskets of wool, The Three Burials of Melquiades Estrada, a purple frock worth having,and a random Nick Hornby (The Complete Polysyllabic Spree – I don’t know if I’m alone in that my favourite Hornby is 31 Songs, entirely non-fictional. If this is like that but with books, then I should be chuffed). Overall, a damp but very much productive afternoon.

Find: Royal Leamington Spa on Google Maps
Transport: Leamington Spa Rail Station on Chiltern Railways
Consume with: double macchiato, Caffe Nero, Regent Street
Visit: Royal Pump Rooms
Overall rating: four Daniel Bedingfields

1 Daniel Bedingfield point

29 Comments

Filed under 4/5, Warwickshire

29 responses to “Royal Leamington Spa

  1. Lovely blog. I’m living in Leamington now – and the charity shops have got better recently. We have a great one (Red Cross, I think) full of furniture as well as the norms!

  2. Pingback: 1st Blogday: Top Ten Charity Shops Of The Year « Charity Shop Tourism

  3. Pingback: 1st Blogday: Top Ten Destinations Of The Year « Charity Shop Tourism

  4. Pingback: Kenilworth | Charity Shop Tourism

  5. Pingback: Moreton-in-Marsh | Charity Shop Tourism

  6. You did a fantastic job with this particular post, thanks a lot.

  7. Your style is so unique in comparison to other people I have read stuff from.
    Thank you for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I will just bookmark this page.

  8. Hello, I desire to subsceibe foor this website to take newqest updates, so where caan i
    do it please assist.

  9. This paragraph will help the internet viewers for setting up new website or even a blog from start to end.

  10. What’s up colleagues, how is all, and what you want to say about
    this post, in my view its genuinely amazing for me.

  11. Hi i am kavin, its my first time to commenting anyplace,
    when i read this post i thought i could also make comment due to this brilliant post.

  12. Usually all the game players want to play the live games instead of offline.
    The most played online games are first person shooters because that.
    This mini-game lets kids click on a few buttons to command a robotic arm.

  13. It’ll also save a lot of cash and time for those
    on a restricted budget who want to successfully expand their companies.
    Duplicating things that have already been proven to work is a
    great strategy when you are trying to grow your business and build a
    team. If your answer is “yes”, you may want to link your Facebook ad to your Facebook page.

  14. When someone writes an post he/she keeps the image of a user
    in his/her brain that how a user can be aware of it. Therefore that’s why this paragraph
    is great. Thanks!

  15. Hello! Someone in my Facebook group shared this site with us so I came to give it a look.
    I’m definitely loving the information. I’m bookmarking
    and will be tweeting this to my followers! Fantastic blog and superb design.

  16. Excellent blog here! Also your website loads up fast!
    What web host are you using? Can I get your affiliate
    link to your host? I wish my website loaded up as quickly as
    yours lol

  17. Thanks for any other informative blog. The place else may
    I am getting that type of info written in such an ideal
    means? I’ve a venture that I’m just now working on, and
    I’ve been on the glance out for such info.

  18. each time i used to read smaller articles
    that as well clear their motive, and that is also happening with this article which I am reading now.

  19. Hi there it’s me, I am also visiting this website regularly, this site is genuinely nice and the visitors are actually sharing fastidious thoughts.

  20. Wow, wonderful blog layout! How long have you been
    blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of
    your web site is excellent, as well as the content!

  21. Great beat ! I would like to apprentice at the same time
    as you amend your site, how could i subscribe for a weblog site?
    The account aided me a acceptable deal. I had been tiny bit familiar
    of this your broadcast provided bright transparent concept

  22. Hey! I know this is kinda off topic however I’d figured I’d ask.

    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest writing a blog article or vice-versa?
    My site goes over a lot of the same topics as yours and I feel we could greatly
    benefit from each other. If you’re interested feel free to send me an e-mail.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Fantastic blog by the way!

  23. I am genuinely glad to read this website posts which consists of plenty of helpful information, thanks for providing
    such statistics.

  24. Hi to all, how is all, I think every one is getting
    more from this web page, and your views are nice designed for new
    users.

  25. hey there and thank you for your information – I’ve certainly picked up anything new
    from right here. I did however expertise a few technical
    issues using this web site, since I experienced to reload the site many
    times previous to I could get it to load correctly.

    I had been wondering if your web host is OK? Not that I’m
    complaining, but slow loading instances times will very frequently affect your
    placement in google and can damage your high quality score if advertising and
    marketing with Adwords. Well I am adding this RSS to
    my email and can look out for much more of your respective intriguing content.
    Ensure that you update this again very soon.

  26. Heya this is kinda of off topic but I was wanting to
    know if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with
    HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no
    coding skills so I wanted to get guidance from someone with experience.

    Any help would be enormously appreciated!

  27. Hello it’s me, I am also visiting this website regularly, this
    web page is actually pleasant and the visitors are in fact sharing fastidious thoughts.

  28. Hello There. I discovered your blog the usage of msn. That
    is an extremely neatly written article. I will be sure to bookmark it and come back to
    read extra of your useful information. Thank you for the post.
    I will certainly return.

  29. For the reason that the admin of this web site is
    working, no doubt very soon it will be well-known, due to its quality contents.

Leave a Reply

